Prayer for Field Workers who Love the Quebecois

Psalm 121
I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills from whence cometh my help; my help cometh from the Lord which made heaven and earth…He that keepeth thee will not slumber.

Late in the night I read this psalm and am comforted. It is my go-to psalm when I need reminding that the mission work that we do is His, and as we yield, becoming willing hands and feet and hearts on earth to do His bidding, He works through us to accomplish His will. I do not need to work manically; I do not need to fret or stew over the lost, over the enormity of the task of sowing and harvesting vast fields. It is He who is Sovereign. It is He who will not sleep, and who will keep us.

I am filled with peace at the thought of God’s watch over us. Our recent trips to hospital in the middle of the night were under His watch. He guided doctors and nurses. He calmed my heart. He gave grace. He alone has the power to heal. And in those wee hours of the morning, He gave us an awareness of the stillness of His presence.

Our house-on-wheels is full of busy students during the day, and busy emailers as their Papa is in Quebec City and neighbourhoods for the week. We, along with you, are his prayer support team.

Above all else, I hope that our home is a House of Prayer.

What does this look like in your home?

Leave a Reply

